Day 1 – A 28 Day Journey (for now) . . .

No-Social-Media-300x300

For the past month I’ve been feeling out of sorts on so many levels. It is true, we are on a journey–and some of us are completely separated from like-minded believers, not by force, but by choice. It is a hard road of suffering. Yahweh created us for fellowship. Genesis shares that God saw that it was not good for man to be alone–He saw Adam’s need for a companion of which He created a helper for him.

Society now tries to destroy that fellowship by encapsulating us into these social media bubbles. It gives us the appearance of belonging, companionship, fellowship with others who are likeminded, but beneath the surface it is a façade. The connection that God intended was person to person. Not computer to computer or cell phone to cell phone– it was and always will be person to person.

I can literally go out and about around town and what I see is incredibly heartbreaking–people walking around looking down at their phones texting, reading or playing games–I see people talking on their phones, I see people in their cars texting or talking on their phones. It is an epidemic of mass proportions–we have become trapped within SELF and we don’t even realize it. It has become a subtle and ever growing norm.

I began to see it a while ago and then I stepped back from social media to take a look. I began to question -Did I really have any “friends” on Facebook? Facebook was the vice that I was chained too. Being without fellowship for so long–I craved fellowship with likeminded believers. I thought Facebook was a perfect place for this. Oh how I was wrong. Little did I know that what I was really needing and looking for was what Yahweh saw in the very beginning–face to face fellowship. The very thing that none of us are really good at. Why? Because our own selfishness gets in the way. We don’t want to suffer– and we certainly don’t want others to see our imperfections. So what do we do? We turn it on and off whenever it suits us. We don’t need to let others really see who we are. And that selfishness is subtly exposed all over social media. But we cannot hide from Yahweh–He sees it all.

One night recently I was pouring my heart out to Yahweh from not having any solid friendships online and not understanding what I was doing wrong. I so desired that those friendships would be cultivated–and yet all I saw was a dead plant. I suddenly heard the Spirit speak to my heart from the 2nd chapter of Song of Solomon…

10 My beloved spake, and said unto me, Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away.

11 For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone;

12 The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of birds is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land;

13 The fig tree putteth forth her green figs, and the vines with the tender grape give a good smell. Arise, my love, my fair one, and come away.

When I heard this Scripture bubble up from the depth of my being, I was confounded. I thought–how can the winter be past? It has not yet even begun. What is Yahweh speaking about? Here my heart is sore about the lack of fellowship I am experiencing for now well over 12 years–what is He saying? It literally took a few days for me to figure out that the Lord was saying–“Enough! Come away from that. Move your heart close to Me. I am your Bridegroom who desires to fellowship with you! Come near to Me.”

From that point on, it was extremely hard to break away from Facebook– I have no idea why since it truly is just false fellowship with others. I took a week to try and decompress from it. There were moments where I wondered–will anyone realize I am gone? Will they care? Will they reach out? And maybe I entered in to self pity over it–because even when I asked these questions, my heart broke– because deep inside I already knew the answer. A very sobering one indeed. A very lonely road travelled.

I don’t know what this next month will bring. One thing I take away from this experience is that Yahweh wants our complete attention on Him–not our attention through Facebook or any other social media outlet–He just wants our whole heart. He may not call you out from the pack of nonsense–but I still challenge you to give Him your undivided attention. Something that I have lacked for a long time…

2 thoughts on “Day 1 – A 28 Day Journey (for now) . . .

  1. Saw a Bumper Sticker: “Facebook, wasting your time since 2004”.
    Don’t expect you to post but NOT on Facebook, Twitter, very seldom email. Computer like the Phone can be a time waster as electric toilet/plug in drug=T.V., So inundated with propaganda if we don’t guard our time and what we put before our eyes. Look at things from Time/Eternity perspective. Google: Leonard Ravenhill’s Grave Marker. By the way Amy: You would like Leonard Ravenhill’s “Why Revival Tarries and America is Too Young to Die (sequel of 1st mentioned). along with Sodom Had No Bible and Tried and Transfigured. I was there to hear 1-27-1991 message in Anaheim, CA of “End Times”. Art Katz and him were definitely the HOLINESS MEN! Also, Leonard Ravenhill writes about suffering and gifts and callings like Art Katz these men write like no other=love the conviction and anointing and unction they write/spoke under. (Leonard Ravenhill was calling men in pulpits playboy evangelist in 1959=wow)!

Leave a Reply

