what is it to be humble?

I came across this quote today in my frustration…frustrations with everything today–how to train up my son in the proper way when he doesn’t understand the value of obedience. Frustrations with my husband not being a very good witness in Christ to a neighbor…frustrations being jobless and not knowing the path he is leading us on…frustrations with knowing that it’s so easy to take life for granted–that we are only given one chance on this earth to serve and love Jesus and others with our whole heart and yet its easy to get sidetracked or to not even care. How sobering it is to know that we can easily be here today and gone tomorrow–and what of eternity? Eternity is forever…now that’s sobering. It is so good to know that He loves us inspite of ourselves and desires that we love Him back.

 “Humility is perfect quietness of heart. It is to expect nothing, to wonder at nothing that is done to me, to feel nothing done against me. It is to be at rest when nobody praises me, and when I am blamed or despised. It is to have a blessed home in the Lord, where I can go in and shut the door, and kneel to my Father in secret, and am at peace as in a deep sea of calmness, when all around and above is trouble.” — Andrew Murray

Leave a Reply

