a new year

I recently posted this to my facebook page and since I have posted much on my blog in a while—thought it was an interesting quote to post for the new year…

Make a choice to rejoice. Make up your mind to be kind. Don’t sweat, don’t fret, don’t get upset. Make a way to pray everyday. Make gratitude your attitude. Let higher thinking keep you from sinking. Don’t lose it. Don’t abuse it. Don’t fail to use it—Amazing Peace in Troubled Times. —author unknown

With each new year comes new adventures as well as new trials. Without Christ I am not sure how anyone is able to survive in troubled times. He is our hope and anchor. He brings us peace when everything else around us tells us the opposite.

Even if we were to try and follow the first quote above by the author who says “make a choice to rejoice…”–I doubt that it would be fully possible without Christ. The quote implies an imperfect human effort that will always fail, whereas when we lean upon Christ and take upon His yoke which is easy, all things are possible…to rejoice, to be kind, to not fret, to pray, to be grateful, to be at peace in troubled times.

Lately I am finding how much more I need Him to help me through each moment in my job, at home, being a mom, a wife, a friend, etc. I drive to work often frustrated because it’s still dark out in the morning and I want to  read a few verses from my Bible during my hour drive but am unable to. Those verses often get me through the day. They are not just words on paper–they are life to my spirit—food, if you will…they nourish my soul and quench my thirst. The Lord fills my cup. He is my coffee for the day.

O God, You are my God; Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for You in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water. Ps 63:1

I spread out my hands to You; My soul longs for You like a thirsty land.  Selah Ps. 143:6

Spurgeon says…

What seems to you a crushing burden, would be to him but as the small dust of the balance. Nothing is so sweet as to lie passive in God’s hands, And know no will but his. O child of suffering, be thou patient; God has not passed thee over in his providence. He who is the feeder of sparrows, will also furnish you with what you need. Sit not down in despair; hope on, hope ever. Take up the arms of faith against a sea of trouble, and your opposition shall yet end your distresses. There is One who careth for you. His eye is fixed on you, his heart beats with pity for your woe, and his hand omnipotent shall yet bring you the needed help. The darkest cloud shall scatter itself in showers of mercy. The blackest gloom shall give place to the morning. He, if thou art one of his family, will bind up thy wounds, and heal thy broken heart. Doubt not his grace because of thy tribulation, but believe that he loveth thee as much in seasons of trouble as in times of happiness. What a serene and quiet life might you lead if you would leave providing to the God of providence! With a little oil in the cruse, and a handful of meal in the barrel, Elijah outlived the famine, and you will do the same. If God cares for you, why need you care too? Can you trust him for your soul, and not for your body? He has never refused to bear your burdens, he has never fainted under their weight. Come, then, soul! have done with fretful care, and leave all thy concerns in the hand of a gracious God.

peace dear one.

2 thoughts on “a new year

  1. It was interesting to find on your blog the chapter titles of my book AMAZING PEACE IN TROUBLED TMES-make a choke to rejoice, make up your mind to be kind, don’t sweat, dn’t fret, don’t get upset, etc. Summerside Press

  2. I don’t know if you are still maintaining this blog page but I thought I would seek to contact you anyway. I have been beset with many trials in the last few years. The Lord called me to an impossible work. Back in Feb 2009 I received a prophesy that still confounds me. I placed this hard to understand word on my blog site for others to review.

    http://llifellowship.yolasite.com/index/repost-proclamation-2-27-09

    I just discovered Art Katz yesterday, and my heart has been encouraged. I started to preach on the internet the things the Lord has shown me about the end times and what the Church should be doing to prepare for His return.

    I call my youtube channel :livinlattes: The name of our ministry. The subtitle is “gathering the Lord’s remnant”. Listening to Art Katz preach made my heart happy, just to know that someone else saw that what the Lord is showing me these last few years.

    You had the distinct pleasure of meeting this man of God and seeing his work in MN. We felt led of the Lord to also build a refuge in NC but the Lord closed that work down last year. We are in CA waiting for orders from Him, still wondering why we can’t find home, but knowing we will never find home til He is here with us.

    Continue to seek Him with all your heart. Use your experiences to help the Body of Christ that is coming to Him in these difficult times.

    Blessings and Shalom,

    Jonathan Keener
    Corona CA

Leave a Reply

