contemplative questions

This morning I was pondering my favorite Psalm. Psalm 23.  As I pondered more about each phrase, I kind of created a series of contemplative questions and answers surrounding the chapter…here’s how it turned out.

Psalms 23

If the LORD is my shepherd, then why do I want more?

If He makes me to lie down in green pastures, why I am so anxious to be ahead of His plan for me?

If he leads me beside the still waters, why do I constantly feel the need to run around–can I not just sit still for one day?

If He restores my soul, why do I dwell upon old wounds of the past?

If He leads me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake, then why do I sit on the fence of complacency?

If I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, will I have a thankful heart?

If He is with me, then what can life to do me?

If His rod and staff comfort me , then why do I feel so alone?

If He prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemies, will not He keep me safe in their midst?

If He has anointed my head with oil and causes my cup to run over, then can i not be at peace with His goodness toward me?

If He says that surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, then why do I find it so hard to trust Him with His eternal Word?

For I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever– amen.

As hubby and I got some coffee this morning I brought a book to read to the coffee shop by Thomas Aquinas–The Imitation of Christ. I love reading and reflecting and today was unique because it lined up with what I was pondering concerning Psalm 23.

The section I read was from Book 3, Chapter 14–The title is called “that true comfort is to be sought in God alone” . Aquinas shares, “Whatsoever I can desire or imagine for my comfort, I look for it not here but hereafter. For if I alone should possess all te comforts of the world, and might enjoy all the delights thereof, it is certain that they could not long endure. Wherefore, O my soul, thou canst not be fully comforted, nor have perfect refreshment, except in God, the comforter of the poor , and the helper of the humble.”

An impactful and jam packed statement for sure! If you don’t have copy of his book for your daily reading, I would highly recommend it–it’s quite sobering.

2 thoughts on “contemplative questions

Leave a Reply

