Early bird gets the Word…

This morning I woke up quite early. I just couldn’t stay in bed any longer– I had to get up. My husband who was already up was inn the kitchen making coffee. As I went into the kitchen to greet him–he was surprised that I was up. Usually I wait till the last minute to get up and then I rush around to get ready for work. But today was different.

Then out of nowhere my husband spoke this, “it is good for you to be up so early, it is good.”

I turned around and questioned, “why”?

He then shared and reminded me that it is good to seek the Lord first thing in the morning. I pondered his statement and then the Lord confirmed what was spoken by showing me this verse that I just happened to stumble on to this morning…

Proverbs 8:17 I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me.

So what is it of the “early” part of the morning that is so important? And why at that time shall we find him then and not in the evening or afternoon? Does it have something to do with the word “first”? And when He is “second” we have placed something else before Him?

I looked up the original hebbrew on the words “those that seek Me early” and this is what I found…

OT:7836
shachar (shaw-khar’); a primitive root; properly, to dawn, i.e. (figuratively) be (up) early at any task (with the implication of earnestness); by extension, to search for (with painstaking):
KJV – [do something] betimes, enquire early, rise (seek) betimes, seek diligently) early, in the morning).

Could the word “early” also imply–to seek Him while we are still young…look here young ones, this is for you.

Ecclesiastes 12:1
12:1 Don’t let the excitement of youth cause you to forget your Creator. Honor him in your youth before you grow old and no longer enjoy living.

Isaiah 55:6
6 Seek the LORD while He may be found,
Call upon Him while He is near.

And here is the word “first” again…

Matthew 6:33
33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.

If you want specifics–this is His Word…

Matthew 7:7-8
“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.8 For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.

And for those desiring wisdom…

James 1:5
5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.

No I am not implying that God is a genie and gives us what we want on a silver platter–this is not the case–after all, Jacob wrestled with God to receive…and also labored many years for Laban in order to marry Rachel. Things were never just handed to him.

My reason for these verses has everything to do with the word “early”–for the early bird gets the Word… did you find Him yet this morning?

2 thoughts on “Early bird gets the Word…

  1. Me too for sure– most everything I write about I most definitely struggle with. For instance, after that day of waking up so early–now once again, I can’t–or rather, my lazy flesh would rather sleep…ugh. Reminds me of the verse that speaks of how our flesh makes war with His spirit within each of us…and so His army marches on…

    rich blessings…

Leave a Reply

