what rules you?

This morning I opened some mail from David Wilkerson — the article started out by sharing the omnipotence and sovereignty of God–His ruler ship–how everything that exists is ruled by His Word and His Word is eternal and unchangeable. As I pondered just a portion of the letter, I began to reflect on the word “rule”. I questioned…what rules my heart? emotions, experiences, decisions, people, fear, stuff, life in general–what is it that really rules my heart? Does Jesus rule it? Do I make decisions based on Jesus and His Word–or do I simply react to what is going on around me? I pondered this some more…

David Wilkerson shares on about how God does not rule by pity or feelings, any more than an earthly judge decides cases by human sympathy–wow–that’s really hard if you think about it. To not have any attachments but to simply base a decision on fact and evidence and not be swayed by the humanness of man. God rules and judges everything according to the eternal law– so what is eternal law? The Lord speaks only according to His Word–I guess that is why Jesus when He was here on earth spoke to His disciples this…

John 7:16-19
16 Jesus answered them and said, “My doctrine is not Mine, but His who sent Me.17 If anyone wills to do His will, he shall know concerning the doctrine, whether it is from God or whether I speak on My own authority.18 He who speaks from himself seeks his own glory; but He who seeks the glory of the one who sent Him is true, and no unrighteousness is in Him.

John 8:28-30
28 Then Jesus said to them, “When you lift up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am He, and that I do nothing of Myself; but as My Father taught Me, I speak these things.29 And He who sent Me is with Me. The Father has not left Me alone, for I always do those things that please Him.”

John 14:9-11
9 Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and yet you have not known Me, Philip? He who has seen Me has seen the Father; so how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?10 Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own authority; but the Father who dwells in Me does the works.11 Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.

Wilkerson’s article goes on to share about our unlimited access to His throne– that we can “approach His throne boldly to find grace and help in time of need” (heb. 4:16)… amen.

However, I am still stuck on this question, “what rules you?” Well I can admit that I am not always ruled by Christ–that I sway in response to how I am feeling at times–if Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever and He is ruling my heart–than I should emanate the same–that’s sure a tall order! But I never have to strive– His grace is sufficient–but how much of that verse do I really get? It certainly doesn’t give me the right or the power to allow my emotions to rule my heart.

Wilkerson goes on to share that when God has declared something to be true, we are to believe and stand on it–without consulting our flesh. We can’t measure the reliability of God’s Word by examining our situation or our worthiness. If we do, we’ll end up only seeing that we’re unworthy. And we’ll talk ourselves out of claiming his Word and appropriating it.

Do you ever wish you had a personal adviser like the president of the US? Someone that advised you on every decision–every move–every aspect of your life? Well guess what! We do! We have our very own personal adviser–the Holy Spirit– He is our “Paraclete”–He serves as our adviser. So every question, every wonderment, every portion of our life that we don’t get or need to make a decision on–He is waiting to advise us–to lead us to truth–the Holy Spirit reminds us of eternal decrees and the divineness that make up God’s Word. We never have to worry if we made a bad decision based on our deceptive and decrepit heart because the Holy Spirit is waiting to bring us counsel according to God’s word. Our only job is to inquire and then open our ears and listen–many times we do the inquiring but then we forget to also do the listening.

Wilkerson’s letter goes on to talk about “preceding case” and “binding precedent”. A preceding case serves as an example in subsequent cases. And a binding precedent is a legal decision made in the past that becomes an authoritative rule for similar cases in the future. Many lawyers regularly rely on binding precedent for their cases because they know a precedent will stand up in court. They search to find favorable cases from the past that can fortify their arguments in court. And yet, all throughout the Bible we find holy men and women who also sought this kind of binding precedent. They had their “spiritual briefcase” loaded with precedents of how God answered his people’s prayers in times past–they remind Him of His promises He made, and point out cases of how He fulfilled His Word to those similar in need.

So is there really a reason to be ruled by our emotions or our predicaments? Nopers. We must prepare our case by going to His Word and ask for the Holy Spirit’s guidance to lead us to those stories of times past.

Wilkerson lists some examples– Moses, King Jehoshaphat, King David. When the Lord wanted to consume Israel for their brazen worship Moses not only prayed and fasted and pleaded for mercy but He stood on the promises that God had made to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob–covenant promises, unbreakable pledges to bless and protect–wow! God wanted to raise up a new generation–to get rid of the filth that the Israelites had allowed to fill up their cisternic hearts. But Moses held to God’s precedent promises. The Lord in Exodus 32:14 repented… And the LORD repented of the evil which he thought to do unto his people. God honored the binding precedent. Read the other stories– and you’ll find those binding precedents! Especially inn the life of David–story after story of David reminding the Lord of His promises for His people. But we can’t expect anything from the Lord if we will not honor His covenant. That’s what a relationship is–and we must honor our relationship with the Most High.

So don’t serve the earth’s abyss of decaying mortality and endless despair–but fortify your faith through the promises of His Word. Stand on the binding precedents of His faithfulness. Let Jesus rule your heart.

Leave a Reply

