the Friday’s

Do you ever just have a bad day? Friday’s according to the workplace are supposed to be awesome because it’s the day before the weekend. And Monday’s are usually the crazy day of getting back into the grove from the weekend. People may often say, “Oh I’m just having the Monday’s” and you would totally understand what they meant– but have you ever heard someone say, “Oh I’m just having the Friday’s”–it just doesn’t sound right because Friday is a great day. Well my Friday was like a whirlwind of unfinished, unplanned, unwelcome blues. It was literally like a tornado and I could not get it to rest. It was like a train headed for a brick wall going at about 200 mph. And most of it if not all of it was my own fault. My expectations of taking care of projects that were due were way unrealistic and I totally did not expect other fires to flare up out of the blue–and yet they did. I felt like my attention was demanded in every direction and yet I just could not focus. And then I just became highly frustrated at everything around me. I had a total human reaction. I was not trusting in God nor resting in His peace. Usually I am super good at taking things in stride and dealing with them as things come, but yesterday was just too much. I was on overload and totally reacting–and it wasn’t who God has made me to be.

Psalm 29:11
The LORD will give strength to His people;The LORD will bless His people with peace.

Yet, I was not trusting in the Lord for His strength in the midst of the trial. Rather than responding by looking to Christ as my strength, I reacted and it just made me more angry.

Psalm 37:11
But the meek shall inherit the earth,And shall delight themselves in the abundance of peace.

I most definitely did not have a meek heart yesterday.

Psalm 85:8
I will hear what God the LORD will speak,For He will speak peace To His people and to His saints; But let them not turn back to folly.

When I turned to my husband for understanding–my husband spoke the Lord’s peace to my heart, yet I didn’t receive it and turned aside to folly by embracing frustration instead. It’s no wonder my day was as it was.

I wonder how it would of ended if I had only responded as I ought. I am certain my day would of been as this…

Jeremiah 17:8
For he shall be like a tree planted by the waters, Which spreads out its roots by the river, And will not fear when heat comes; But its leaf will be green, And will not be anxious in the year of drought, Nor will cease from yielding fruit.

The Lord says that He searches and trys our hearts…really there is nothing good in me that dwells but only His Spirit which is His that He gave–it has nothing to do with me–or my abilities–He gave me the ability–I am simply His vessel on which He chooses to use.

Jeremiah 17:9-10
9
 The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?
10 I the LORD search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings.

The fruit of my doings were just “yucky” for a Friday. If I was graded on a trial–I would say I received an “F”. I am thankful that we don’t get grades in heaven–hmmm… well that’s another subject. I just want to please my Father. And I am inn awe of His grace that He generously lavishes us with. I am thankful for His lovingkindness and compassions and how they are new each day. So today is another day–let’s hope I don’t take another trip the same way.

Lamentations 3:20
20
 My soul hath them still in remembrance, and is humbled in me.
21 This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope.
22 It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.
23 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.
24 The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.
25 The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.
26 It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD.
27 It is good for a man that he bear the yoke in his youth.
28 He sitteth alone and keepeth silence, because he hath borne it upon him.
29 He putteth his mouth in the dust; if so be there may be hope.
30 He giveth his cheek to him that smiteth him: he is filled full with reproach.
31 For the Lord will not cast off for ever:
32 But though he cause grief, yet will he have compassion according to the multitude of his mercies.
33 For he doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.
34 To crush under his feet all the prisoners of the earth,
35 To turn aside the right of a man before the face of the most High,
36 To subvert a man in his cause, the Lord approveth not.

4 thoughts on “the Friday’s

  1. It is a “Good Friday” indeed when one can look at there own flesh beaten, torn, stripped down to the “bear” TRUTH. Recognizing our own weakness and looking toward the Cross who bore that weakness for us returning for us strength and power.

    You rested in Him and in your weakness His strength is made perfect.

    Hang in their sis………..Thank God Friday Is Finished………and we have a hope as you have so beautifully stated here…………..weeping does endure for a season……..BUT Joy is coming! Look up!

  2. Amy. I am a bit confused here. Why do we look upon an “F” as a failure? Perhaps it is because someone has placed that and established it as truth? Real failure is not getting back up! God bless you and Peter! Maranatha!
    SEMPER FIDELIS!

  3. Oh Amy, I wish I had read this earlier..:)
    A friend of mine posted an article called, “It’s Friday..but Sunday is a comin”. It was really sweet and an encouragement to look beyond ourselves and what Jesus did on Sunday, “The Resurrection”, Victory over death!! Halleluiah

    Lamentations 3:23-23 Beautiful verse Amy!!

    Bless you and yours..
    Laurie

Leave a Reply

