how do you wear it?

Well– the water main has been fixed and I am a happy camper. It’s totally amazing how much a single person can take amenities for granted. Do I function well under pressure? Hmm…that would be a big fat “no”.

Here’s the biggee– ok supposedly I am a Christian–but how do I wear it? Do I wear it like this?

Matthew 25:31-46
“When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the holy angels with Him, then He will sit on the throne of His glory.32 All the nations will be gathered before Him, and He will separate them one from another, as a shepherd divides his sheep from the goats.33 And He will set the sheep on His right hand, but the goats on the left.34 Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:35 for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in;36 I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink?38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You?39 Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’40 And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’

41 “Then He will also say to those on the left hand,’Depart from Me, you cursed, into the everlasting fire prepared for the devil and his angels:42 for I was hungry and you gave Me no food; I was thirsty and you gave Me no drink;43 I was a stranger and you did not take Me in, naked and you did not clothe Me, sick and in prison and you did not visit Me.’

44 “Then they also will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to You?’45 Then He will answer them, saying, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to Me.’46 And these will go away into everlasting punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”

Ok– well that’s harsh. Ah- but harsh words are true and painful to hear at first. And I am in the boat with the people who aren’t very good at doing nice things for their neighbors. I try–but my efforts are so futile. What about you?

I must commend our next door neighbor–I don’t even think he knows Jesus–but he is a kind and quiet man who really keeps to himself. My husband was outside trying to figure out how to fix our frozen pipes so that we could have water and our neighbor offered help. We live in a trailer so you can only imagine what kind of mess they had to crawl through in order to thaw the frozen pipes. And my husband’s back is not in the best of shape so it was even more difficult for him to be crawling around under our trailer. I must commend their efforts–for the pipe freeze has ended. And I have been blessed by a kind soul who knows not the Supreme Kindness. And I am humbled–for I feel like a lousy neighbor. Would I offer help to someone in need? Would you? Or has the things of life caused busyness to bring weight? selah.

random thoughts:
I think Coca-Cola has brought a human reality to acts of kindness…”give a little love and it all comes back to you”. The circle of kindness.

But here’s a snag to ponder. Would you still give a little love (as the coke commercial puts it) even if no love was returned?

Jesus gave love without it being returned. The only thing that was returned to Him were beatings, cruelties, and spitting, etc.

So the supreme question is… do I give to get or do I give to just give? my neighbor just gave his help so that I could have water. my husband just gave his health so that I could have water. Jesus just gave his life so that I could have water.

Leave a Reply

