Foiled Again!

this is a continuation of thought to what i have been going through…

Acts 27:13-14 (KJV)
13 And when the south wind blew softly, supposing that they had obtained their purpose, loosing thence, they sailed close by Crete. 14 But not long after there arose against it a tempestuous wind, called Euroclydon.

So how many times has this happened to you…all the sudden you think you have arrived–you have found your purpose in life and at last–all things are well in your soul. The winds are blowing softly upon your face as you wade inn the water–there is a certain peace about your demear. But wait! Wade carefully in this water–because sooner or later the wind will pick up swiftly with no time to prepare and large waves will fling you off your feet and throw you back into the depths of this treacherous sea! Just as Paul admonished his shipmates to heed his warning.

Acts 27:10 (KJV)
10 And said unto them, Sirs, I perceive that this voyage will be with hurt and much damage, not only of the lading and ship, but also of our lives.

Now there is no choice–the warning is not taken in heed but a grain of salt–and the salt is now driving the wind to throw your boat of life down. So what happened to the chance to sail with Him in the heights of everlasting joy? Choices, choices–it’s all about our choices. When we think we know what’s best, Jesus, Our Master gives the test. To see what’s really wrought in our hearts–to serve, or blame, or win the lost. For me, for me, I say I’m guilty of all three! And I get whisked away in the midst of silence. Is the storm passed or am I in the heart of the matter. Who is foiled this time? me or you? or neither?

a prayer of petition
Psalms 119:9-16 (KJV)
9 Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word. 
10 With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments. 
11 Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. 
12 Blessed art thou, O LORD: teach me thy statutes. 
13 With my lips have I declared all the judgments of thy mouth. 14 I have rejoiced in the way of thy testimonies, as much as in all riches. 15 I will meditate in thy precepts, and have respect unto thy ways. 16 I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget thy word.

Leave a Reply

