fishers of men

fisherEver since my husband and I exchanged vows (almost 4 years now) we have desired to fellowship with other believers. The road to finding a place of fellowship has not been fun–expecially since we have traveled across the country and never really became settled inn one place until recently. Reflecting back I would say that we certainly had more fellowship as we were traveling than we do now. So now that we are planted it was time to make new friends in an unknown city–reminds me of Paul speaking to those on Mars Hill–“to the unknown God”

Acts 17:23-25
23 for as I was passing through and considering the objects of your worship, I even found an altar with this inscription:TO THE UNKNOWN GOD.Therefore, the one whom you worship without knowing, Him I proclaim to you:24 God, who made the world and everything in it, since He is Lord of heaven and earth, does not dwell in temples made with hands. NKJV

When we entered this town 2 years ago–I had these preconceived notions of getting involved in some church and their ministry and even possibly hosting small groups inn our home ( i secretly kept our coffee cups thinking many would fill our home)…but then as we began to visit area churches, my heart sunk and cloudy eyes began to open to the reality of religion and tradition that filled the hearts of many–this was very grueling to embrace at first. It’s like listening to a record that has a big divit in it and it just keeps repeating the same thing over and over again–never moving forward…it’s stuck in a rut. We continued to pray and ask Jesus where He wanted us to be and who He wanted us to befriend and instead of meeting people from any church–we just kept meeting people outside the church…many sinners and many unchurched.

So fast forward to now and we have sought the Lord in having fellowship with others in our home and for now there is only one other couple that desires to get together and fellowship. What will evolve from this? I have no idea, but I love the fact that it’s simple–nothing structured…just brothers and sisters sitting and talking about Jesus and wanting to know Him more. That’s what it’s all about…Jesus said, “follow Me and I will make you fishers of men.” So today I ask, what in me do I need to lay down in order that I may pick up my cross and follow Him? <><

One thought on “fishers of men

  1. Hi Amy. I can definitely relate. I must admit that I saw something in seeking “fellowship” or in my case, “like minded believers. Sometimes this becomes our agenda and our identity and not Christ. Yes, we wish to walk together in this journey but when that becomes our goal then it is a misplaced identity and we don’t want that. Our identity is found in Jesus and not in our “fellowship” or whatever else we can conjure up as a substitute for His presence. Yes, it is very lonely but we are never alone! We have Him! And He has us!! Maranatha!
    SEMPER FIDELIS!
    ben

Leave a Reply

