hey! take a hiatus

birdfeeder Good Morning Java Drinkers! My days have been full recently–but really, whose day isn’t full of things to do? But I find that it is truly good to make time to relax–take a hiatus. Get your cup of coffee or tea and go sit outside–enjoy the breezy wind, enjoy the chirping birds, enjoy the quiet, away from the hum and drum of the world–to just sit and wait and hear Him speak to my heart before the day begins. This is what I long to do. And I long it for you too.

So recently I went and got another bird feeder. I wanted to get a larger one for the larger birds because I had a small one for the smaller birds. I got the birdfeeder exactly a week ago. The bird feeder is not your normal feeder–it looks almost like a latern with an asian flair to it. It’s unique–just what I like about it. And it was only 8 bucks at Walmart–yeah another good deal. Because it is a larger feeder–I wanted to make sure the squirrels would stay away and so I got that seed that squirrels don’t like.

So my husband helped me hang it one the other tree in our yard and I knew from my other feeder that it would take about 5 days or so for the birds to realize a new feeder. Everyday when I would get home from work I would ask my husband–“see any birds on the feeder today”, and each time he would respond, “no, none today”. So finally this morning I began to wonder if maybe the reason the birds not eating from the feeder was because it was too late in the summer and they already had their feeding route. I could tell that inside I was becoming a little impatient with the whole waiting process and felt a bit hopeless.

Isn’t that true of our own expectations of things around us? We wait for a certain amount of time and then when it does not bear fruit within our time frame the impatience sets in and hopelessness fills our hearts? So then are we truly waiting? Waiting even when the results are not manifesting? What does it truly mean to wait? To wait without expectation? To wait without thinking there would be results? And yet scripture speaks of waiting…

Romans 8:19-20
19 For the earnest expectation of the creation eagerly waits for the revealing of the sons of God.

So creation waits with expectation for the revealing–but does not get ticked off because it thinks it is taking too long. So I guess the question to ask is–where are my expectations in waiting? Are they centered on Christ or centered on self?

And there is also the verse that speaks of Christ being magnified within us and earnestly expecting this transformation that Paul speaks of…

Philippians 1:19-21
For I know that this will turn out for my deliverance through your prayer and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ,20 according to my earnest expectation and hope that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ will be magnified in my body, whether by life or by death.

So when I wait with expectation–my expectation is hopeful that it will come to pass in His time. But as soon as that hope disappears, my expectation turns from Christ to self and it is no longer waiting but selfishness and impatience. So waiting and hope go together–they are married.

Well I must share that just as I sat down to write this unique experience about waiting on birds to find a new feeder–a small bird flew to the feeder and sampled a morsel and flew away. It returned about 3 more times to sample and disappeared. The bird was small and gray…so again I was tested in where my expectation was at. Am I disappointed now that the bird was not larger–yeah, a little. So again I have much to learn about the marriage of hoping and waiting and not be disappointed when things don’t go the way I see that they should go.

Romans 5:5
5 Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

So then the question to ask is…”do I truly have His love in my heart concerning all things”?

Leave a Reply

