leaning

Good Morning Faithful Java Friends!

Well, it’s been a while since I have poured out. Truly a lot has been going on in this side of the coffee world. The Lord has truly blessed me with an awesome job…His goodness never ceases to amaze me.

I started my new job just after Memorial Day and my first day was awesome–I have never felt more welcome in the presence of other people. You know, there is something to say about working in a company where you know that you are appreciated and cared about. I believe this is greatly lacking in the corporate world (with the exception of a few).

I know that there may be many of you that are still without work or maybe are not satisfied with your working situation. Well, I want to encourage you. One thing that I learned through this whole experience of being laid off for 3+ months is that–God desires to have total control of us–including our destiny–the path we walk on–and the people that we meet on our journey. Sometimes He will cause extreme things to take place in order to get us “back on track”…like for me it was being laid off.

And then in being laid off or losing a job the choice is yours– do you get mad and frustrated with the state you are in–or do you look inwardly and upward and ask the Lord for His purpose in it?

Well I must share…if you choose to look inward and upward and desire His best in the matter–you will not be dismayed. For it is His goodness that Jesus desires for all His children. But you must let go of the matter and trust Him with all to care for You and provide–no matter what. And the outcome– He will!! Don’t strive with Him! Use this as a resting time with Jesus–for it is only a season that He gives so it must be embraced with wisdom. And as you rest–He prepares behind the scenes a most wonderful job for you.

One thing that I found most difficult to trust was the prayer that my husband and I prayed in the very beginning. “Lord, open only ONE door–the door You desire me to walk through–the job You want me to have.” I totally desired to work where Jesus wanted me to work. And I was afraid that I would have too many jobs to choose from–too many interviews–and too many offers. So I desired that all the optional doors be shut tight and the one that Jesus desired for me to walk through be open only. So yes, I sent out like probably one hundred resumes and a couple times I became fearful–because I had absolutely no phone calls for interviews. But I had to trust what I prayed and know that Jesus was working behind the scenes for me. For He is FOR US– never AGAINST US. However the enemy would like us to think that God is not trustworthy or faithful…those are false thoughts–they do not promote the goodness that Jesus desires to pour out upon His children.

So I waited– and did not strive with Him in my job search but was faithful to do my part and continue to send out resumes and rest before Him as He so desired. In Psalms it says, “He makes me to lie down in green pastures–He leads me beside still waters–He restores my soul–He leads me in paths of righteousness–For His name sake…” That’s right!! For Who’s name sake? HIS NAME SAKE!! Not mine, not an employer’s name sake, not my families name sake. He leads you and me in paths of righteousness for His name sake. So it is true–He desires the best for His kids! Amen.

And guess what? I could not of found a better job than the one He gave me. He has placed me somewhere where I am appreciated for who I am…a place that has warm hearts and goodness pours out continually…a place where I can continue to grow in my walk with Jesus…a place where I can pour out to others…a place where His beacon of light shines bright…a place where I can rest…a place of peace. He has made room for my giftings in a beautiful place. Isn’t Jesus good? I am reminded of the hymn that goes…

What a fellowship, what a joy divine,
Leaning on the everlasting arms;
What a blessedness, what a peace is mine,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

Leaning, leaning, safe and secure from all alarms;
Leaning, leaning, leaning on the everlasting arms.

O how sweet to walk in this pilgrim way,
Leaning on the everlasting arms;
O how bright the path grows from day to day,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

What have I to dread, what have I to fear,
Leaning on the everlasting arms;
I have blessed peace with my Lord so near,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

So where ever you are on your journey with Him–He desires so much to pour out His goodness upon your life so that you can in turn pour out to others.

shalom!
amy

One thought on “leaning

Leave a Reply

