His showers of goodness…inspite of my crabbiness

crab apple treeIt’s amazing how the Lord’s thoughts are so much higher than we could ever fathom. His grace is exquisite–rendering one crippled and undone before Him only to receive what HE has to give through His humble messengers…and just at the right time. These days have been tiring–hard–tearing on me spiritually. Finally being fed up–I threw my hand’s up and shut the door hard–never to enter again.

The next day Peter said…”come see the tree our neighbor wants to give you”. Apparently this tree was growing out of the side of a hill and being encroached upon by big burly pine trees who were over powering it. All it wanted to do was grow. But it was being overshadowed by others more powerful than itself. It was so bad that it was growing sideways trying to burst forth under the others to at least catch a glimpse of Light. Hiding under their shadows it needed rescuing…and our neighbor saw my love for nature and was led to ask if I wanted to rescue this young one from its fate of disaster. So I went over to take a look and found absolute beauty–pure white flowers blooming from a young crabapple lifting its younng branches out from underneath the tall pines–it cried for freedom.

I ran in the house and called our landscaper friend and asked if it was possible to dig it up without destroying it’s root system. He came over to take a look and said its possible. The men began to dig–all the men got involved–the neighbor, the landscaper and my husband–all of them to save a tree. I was astonished at the great care each of them took in this process–desiring to be so delicate with the roots of this little one…one huge root had to be cut but there is hope. Hope that it will make it. And so we replanted it–right in the center of our yard.

As I reflected on the events that took place I began to realize the goodness of God–it endures…it continues, even though I may not…it extends, even though I do not reach, it rejoices, even though I rather cry. His goodness IS– just as He IS– I cannot earn it and I certainly don’t deserve it. All that I can manage to produce in great works will never be enough for His showers of goodness that continually reigns as the earth is watered from the heavens above and land is soaked with continual rain. Why? He just does. He takes great care. Just as the 3 men took great care in removing the wounded and choked tree–so He too takes great care in delivering me from the shadows of the enemy–completing the work He started in me.

My husband in awe of what took place last evening kept looking at me in awe saying I was a blessed woman–yet little did he know–or maybe he does how much the Lord used this one thing to teach me something great of His goodness that will endure…but it does not give me a right to be a crab, but humbles me beyond words that I am so undeserving of this goodness that He gives so freely and with no price…great grace.

Psalms 31:19-20
Oh, how great is Your goodness,
Which You have laid up for those who fear You,
Which You have prepared for those who trust in You
In the presence of the sons of men!
20 You shall hide them in the secret place of Your presence
From the plots of man;
You shall keep them secretly in a pavilion
From the strife of tongues.

Psalms 52:1-3
Why do you boast in evil, O mighty man?
The goodness of God endures continually.
2 Your tongue devises destruction,
Like a sharp razor, working deceitfully.
3 You love evil more than good,
Lying rather than speaking righteousness.
Selah

Psalms 145:7-9
7 They shall utter the memory of Your great goodness,
And shall sing of Your righteousness.
8 The LORD is gracious and full of compassion,
Slow to anger and great in mercy.
9 The LORD is good to all,
And His tender mercies are over all His works.

Romans 2:4-5
4 Or do you despise the riches of His goodness, forbearance, and longsuffering, not knowing that the goodness of God leads you to repentance?

shalom java friends…

Leave a Reply

