sidewinder punches…

oilI learned something new today…a sidewinder is a powerful swinging punch delivered from the side. And if you aren’t looking it will certainly catch you off guard and put you right on the floor. I am still trying to get up from the collision it created. I probably have you scratching your head asking yourself what in the world I am talking about. Well let me first give you a clue…

1 Peter 5:8-11
Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.9 Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world.10 But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.

You ever been in a place with your walk with God where you are content–you are at peace–you get a little comfortable…and then WHAM! the enemy has knocked you down pretty hard. Your not sure how you are gonna be able to get up. You lost your footing and the ground you once stood on–all is lost because you let your guard down. Many weeks of fellowship with Jesus has just been destroyed–all the momentum you gained up to this point has been deleted and it’s time to start over…climb that hill!

Well this is where I have been the past few weeks–I feel like I have been clobbered. I am going to be flat out honest. I have no zeal to study His Word– no zeal to spend time with Him in the mornings–no zeal to pray–I’ve become a zombie it seems just going through the motions of life and looking for a job wondering where the breakthrough will come from. It seems I got stuck in the mire and need some assistance in getting out.

You ever been there? Come on, be honest– we all have. So tell me your story, how did you get out?

2 thoughts on “sidewinder punches…

  1. Do I ever know sidewinder punches! They are the only kind Satan delivers, such as last year when he slammed a sledge hammer into my head then cracked a 2by4 down my spine (brain aneurysm). As I went down in front of a bench I’d been building, I recall saying, “You aren’t winning this round, either, Satan!” And, I’m still here. So, this year Satan broke my back and, again, as I went down I was saying, “You aren’t winning this round, either, Satan!”

    Satan hasn’t won a battle yet and he’s been trying to kill me since I was six years old; but my God is stronger! You might want to read “Blessings in Disguise.” I think I posted it back in August or, perhaps, September. LOL!

    As for where you are at the moment, I feel you need to remind yourself that you are where you are at any given moment because that is where God wants you. Everything about this life is a test of faith: “I allow adversity to measure a man’s righteousness, that he come to know that there is no one greater than God.” Ace the test, dear one. Stand up, fight the good fight, then continue to stand!

    Much love in Christ,
    http://bonnieq.wordpress.com
    Truth Seekers and Speakers

  2. Well, I left a message but I have a feeling it went into your Akismet Spam, because it isn’t showing up on your article! I pray that you find it, for I feel it will help.

    BonnieQ

Leave a Reply

