Vain Labor

design by amy This morning I was pondering on this verse…

Psalms 127:1 Unless the LORD builds the house, They labor in vain who build it; Unless the LORD guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain. NKJV

I reflected on the many times I have done just that–labored in vain–attempting to build a home yet not seeking the Lord for counsel and not allowing Him to form the house how He intended it to be from the beginning. The result has been rubble.

Luke 14:28 For which of you, intending to build a tower, does not sit down first and count the cost, whether he has enough to finish it — 29 lest, after he has laid the foundation, and is not able to finish, all who see it begin to mock him,30 saying, ‘This man began to build and was not able to finish.’ NKJV

I am reminded of a song that says “Jesus You’re my sure foundation, I know I can stand secure…”

And when my life is not resting on His foundation–I cannot stand secure–I cannot trust but in dust that evaporates to nothing when blown upon. The rock beneath my feet is as shifting sand and I sink in the mire of my own will rather than resting in the shadow of His almightiness.

Psalms 91:4
4 He shall cover you with His feathers, And under His wings you shall take refuge;His truth shall be your shield and buckler.NKJV

Isn’t that awesome–He covers us with His feathers–we are hidden under His wings. We are protected with His truth–it is our Shield and our Buckler– But oh so many times how we put our shield down or drop it and then we are no longer protected by His truth–but open to receive the onslaught of either our own fleshly soul or the ravishings of the evil one. Hold high–dear friends–hold strong onto that shield and buckler. Oh how important I am seeing to stand firm on His Truth and not be swayed by the world and its deceitfulness. To not be swayed by the winds of adversity that would want to vex my spirit and remove me from my place in Him.

For a while I was sitting on the front line. Literally sitting–not doing anything–allowing myself to be beaten down by the adversary and not realizing that I must fight as a warrior. To fight the good fight of FAITH.

Isaiah 59:19 So shall they fear The name of the LORD from the west, And His glory from the rising of the sun; When the enemy comes in like a flood, The Spirit of the LORD will lift up a standard against him. NKJV

But only when I dwell in the secret place shall I find rest and victory and only then will the Lord be able to build His House.

Leave a Reply

