the perplexing grace of God

Good Morning Friends– I just finished my first cup of coffee and am still trying to wake up here. We got a few inches of snow last night and it is still snowing–wow. Does anyone know why when it is yucky outside that ya just don’t feel like getting out of bed–especially when it’s cold? Well at least for me it is that way sometimes–and this morning was one of those mornings. I thrive on light and when it is gloomy I just have more of a hard time I guess.

Anyway, got my second cuppa and I am ready to share…besides waking up this morning and wrestling with my eyeballs to stay open–every time I would start to read or pray it seems that my mind would begin to wander off to some anger I had inside. So here I am asking Jesus what He would like to share with me today and then I have this anger rolling around in my head and wanting to act on that anger. The Lord shares with me to read 2 Sam. 12–it’s the story about when Nathan comes to David and shares with him the parable about the rich man, poor man, and the traveler and it representing David’s sin by killing Uriah.

Okay, now when Jesus shared with me to read this story I grumbled to myself–why in the world am I to read this when I have read it many times? But I always seem to forget that the Word is living and I could read the same scripture a thousand times and I know Jesus would reveal each time something different about who He is. And in this particular time–He is desiring to reveal a portion of His grace with me. His Word is always near to us in our present need…and today because of my anger and wanting to retaliate on my entire family for forgetting my husband’s birthday (3 years in a row)–Jesus is desiring to share something of His grace with me.

I would ask first that if you truly desire to get this–to read first 2 Samuel 12 and then come back and read the rest with your coffee of course…

First I will share this verse…

Psalms 30:5 For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for life; Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning. NKJV

2 Samuel 12:7-10 Then Nathan said to David, “You are the man! Thus says the LORD God of Israel: ‘I anointed you king over Israel, and I delivered you from the hand of Saul.8 I gave you your master’s house and your master’s wives into your keeping, and gave you the house of Israel and Judah. And if that had been too little, I also would have given you much more!9 Why have you despised the commandment of the LORD, to do evil in His sight? You have killed Uriah the Hittite with the sword; you have taken his wife to be your wife, and have killed him with the sword of the people of Ammon. NKJV

The Lord was very angry with David at the sin he committed– for the Lord had poured out upon David’s house great blessing — not to mention David being also anointed by the Lord as king. But it was not enough at the time for David–he wanted even more–Bathsheba.

So we know what happens– the Lord judges David not just in the present of taking away the child from them but also for the rest of his life there would be calamity in his house. So that’s a pretty intense judgment. However one thing I noticed in reading is that the Lord even after His judgment He still greatly continued to pour out upon David and love David and gave favor to David–even the 2nd child he had was a blessing of great wisdom. Jesus showed me here that He does not keep grudges–He loves and forgives a repentent heart and continues to have favor upon those whom He will have favor on.

So I may be momentarily angry at my family for their silly actions but it would be wrong of me to hold a grudge against them over a silly birthday card that will never be remembered in eternity. It would be wrong to completely cut off communication. It would be wrong to point fingers and say I am right. And I find it so amazing how unforgiveness weaves in and out of many families regardless of who is right or wrong. Don’t we know how to forgive and extend grace regardless of whether that family member will ever change? A wise woman once said–“that’s their riff with God, it’s not your problem”. That is so true! And how scary it is to fall into the hands of a Living God. And some families stay angry with each other even after a family member dies! How crazy is that? But I hear one word ringing in my ear and that word is PRIDE. We are so full of pride–especially when we get on the kick of I am right and you are wrong. For in Christ–we have no rights if we have truly crucified ourselves with Christ–it is no longer I WHO LIVE but Christ in me. Amen? And I am reminded of the verse that says…

Luke 9:25 For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and is himself destroyed or lost? NKJV

For we cannot control the choices of another–but the greatest gift we can give to others is LOVE inspite of–so that they might come to know Christ.

I cannot fix my family and their issues and I am certainly not to take part in them or align myself on “sides”–but what is true is that I am to love in spite of—eeekkk! It’s a tall order, but I know Jesus can help me.

For yes, His grace is perplexing and I scratch my head at His atoning grace. Oh Lord, help me to be gracious!

But here is a question–would you rather your soul be radiating with peace and know that you are right with God or would you rather have your soul literally ravaged and torn apart with anger, bitterness and unforgiveness? It’s your riff with God.

Whew! I much rather be at peace with God and walk in the grace and love He extends to me so that I may extend it to others.

In addition…a good friend says…”Actually, that whole chapter on LOVE is most profound and full of instruction. It would behoove us all to read that one on a regular basis to renew our sinful minds! It’s hard not to dwell on wrongs done to us isn’t it? But, we are supposed to “believe all things” and focus on “whatever things are noble, ..” etc… ”

So in addition I have posted the LOVE chapter below 🙂

1 Corinthians 13 – The Greatest Gift
13:1 Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.

4 Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up;5 does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil;6 does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth;7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

8 Love never fails. But whether there are prophecies, they will fail; whether there are tongues, they will cease; whether there is knowledge, it will vanish away.9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part.10 But when that which is perfect has come, then that which is in part will be done away.

11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.12 For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.

13 And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love. NKJV

2 thoughts on “the perplexing grace of God

  1. Hi! I just stopped by, w/o coffee b/c it’s 9:30pm here and I don’t want to be awake all night :-)… I was glancing over this one here and just wanted to add in that scripture (I didn’t see it here, but I’m sure you probably thought of it, too) out of Corinthians 1 when Paul says, “Love keeps no record of wrongs.” Actually, that whole chapter on LOVE is most profound and full of instruction. It would behoove us all to read that one on a regular basis to renew our sinful minds! It’s hard not to dwell on wrongs done to us isn’t it? But, we are supposed to “believe all things” and focus on “whatever things are noble, ..” etc… Thank you Jesus that you don’t dwell on the things that we do wrong! You just keep on drawing us after you to higher places.

  2. Wow Lindsay! Thanks so much for that comment! Actually to be honest–when I wrote that blog–I totally forgot about the Love Chapter Paul wrote to the Corinthians–so thank you for adding to this. It’s so true –each of us needs one another in the Body–for what one forgets, another adds to, and so on… line upon line, precept upon precept.

    PS. Peter would like to know how Josh is doing in school–would love to see new pics of you all and hope all is well for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

