serving inspite of…

servingDon’t forget to get your cup of tea or coffee…this morning seems to of slid away so fast and already I am facing noon–eek! Having already had 2 cups of coffee–I am full to the brim for now at least and am ready to share a little of what I have been reading. So make sure you got a full cup and enjoy your read!

Lately I have been reading about the Kings of the Old Testament and their reign. It is really interesting to find how one king served the Lord and got rid of all idolic temple worship and another would come into office and bring it right back in. Almost like a tug-o-war with heaven and hell never causing the cycle to cease but each man given over to their own will to do and bid as they pleased. And what is even more unique is that the Lord did not blow them to smithereens! But patiently waited until their end–now that is most definately man’s free will and the grace of God rolled into one. And I found that there were only a few that at the end of their life turned their heart to the Lord when already they had spent their life away in evil and evil upon His kingdom. Eternity by far is quite a fearful thing when you stand before a living God.

Today however, I was led to read about Saul and David in I Sam. 24. I was given glimpses into David’s life and what made him a man after God’s own heart. For at one point when Saul sought to again kill David–David received word of his plan and the Lord allowed David to sneak into the camp of Saul and then gave David permission to kill Saul! Wow! But what made it unique was the confession of David to be found blameless–to have a clean heart rid of any guile–for he served Saul–Saul was King and at that time–the Lord’s anointed. Even though he had permission–he submitted to Saul and showed mercy and compassion toward him…and the Lord honored his heart and in the end–David still became king–but not out of annihilating his master–but waiting for the perfect timing of the Lord to be king over Israel. And what it did was only strengthen David even more so–his waiting strengthened his army–strengthened his faith–strengthened his leadership–and gave him a heart of compassion toward his enemies. Wow!

So now I have a question…how many of you find it utterly difficult to serve?

I sure do. I am so not good at serving especially when I am being wronged by another. It truly makes me want to retaliate or retreat and hide. I find it even hard to serve when I have the opportunity to in good surroundings. I haven’t an ounce of service in me. But I am so glad that I am unable to serve in the flesh–because that just means that by His Spirit I can do all things–including serve and the only one that gets the glory is Christ.

1 Corinthians 1:25
25 Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men. NKJV

2 Corinthians 12:9 And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong. NKJV

Hebrews 11:32 And what more shall I say? For the time would fail me to tell of Gideon and Barak and Samson and Jephthah, also of David and Samuel and the prophets:33 who through faith subdued kingdoms, worked righteousness, obtained promises, stopped the mouths of lions,34 quenched the violence of fire, escaped the edge of the sword, out of weakness were made strong, became valiant in battle, turned to flight the armies of the aliens.35 Women received their dead raised to life again. Others were tortured, not accepting deliverance, that they might obtain a better resurrection. NKJV

So on this day– I commit my weaknesses unto Christ and ask Him for the ability to serve through His Spirit…amen.

May each of you find peace in [inn] knowing He loves you this day and always…

-shiloh

Leave a Reply

