acerbities…umbrages…

Well if your reading this– I must of gotten your attention by the subject. Instead of putting the word “anger” as the subject I decided to put a word that I didn’t quite know the meaning too to make it more interesting. Plus, who wants to read about anger? Especially when all of us are capable of it. The good news is that Anger is not in itself sinful–it’s what we do with the anger that causes us to sin.

Too often these days I find myself becoming angered easily–being moved from peace to offense–acerbities–umbrages, etc…angry. Even at the silliest things like– hey, the guy driving in front of me cut me off and didn’t even have his blinker on. Or maybe someone cutting me off in mid-sentence and completely ignoring what I was saying. I could give a list that goes on for pages but one thing that I find most reoccurring is the words “I, ME, MY”–all of which deal with “self” at the center and not Christ.

I heard a pastor once say that SIN is “SELF INDEPENDENT NATURE”.

And anything that involves self is sin. So my anger toward others–or the eloquent word “acerbity” or “umbrage”–these are all sin when it circles around my self–regardless of what the other person did to “me”–my call in life is to “love” inspite of. So this morning again I was tested right away with this word and anger arouse in my heart and instead of just repenting and giving it to Jesus–I immediately pursued the offense inside. It did not at all promote a loving heart and later I had to go and ask forgiveness to the Lord and my husband.

I decided that I would look up verses on anger to see what Jesus says when I embrace anger and found this…

1. Be Slow To Become Angry
Proverbs 14:29 He who is slow to anger has great understanding, But he who is quick-tempered exalts folly. NASU

2. Love Covers A Multitude Of Sins and Overlooks Many Offenses.
Proverbs 10:12 Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions. NASU
Proverbs 12:16 A fool’s anger is known at once, But a prudent man conceals dishonor. NASU
Proverbs 17:9 He who conceals a transgression seeks love, But he who repeats a matter separates intimate friends. NASU
Proverbs 19:11 A man’s discretion makes him slow to anger, And it is his glory to overlook a transgression. NASU
1 Peter 4:8 Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. NIV

3. Seek The Way Of Love
1 Corinthians 13:4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. NIV

4. Hot Words Stir Up Strife
Proverbs 15:1 A soft answer turns away wrath, But a harsh word stirs up anger. NKJV

5. A Hot-Tempered Man Creates Dissension
Proverbs 15:18 A hot-tempered man stirs up strife, but he who is slow to anger appeases contention. AMP

6. Control Yourself
Proverbs 25:28 A person without self-control is as defenseless as a city with broken-down walls. NLT
Proverbs 29:22 A hot-tempered person starts fights and gets into all kinds of sin. NLT
Proverbs 30:33 For the churning of milk produces butter, And pressing the nose brings forth blood; So the churning of anger produces strife. NAS

7. Fits Of Rage Belong To Your Sinful Nature
Galatians 5:19-21 Now the deeds of the flesh are evident, which are: immorality, impurity, sensuality, 20 idolatry, sorcery, enmities, strife, jealousy, outbursts of anger, disputes, dissensions, factions, 21 envying, drunkenness, carousing, and things like these, of which I forewarn you, just as I have forewarned you, that those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God. NASU

8. Through The Holy Spirit, We Can Overcome The Sin Of Anger
Galatians 5:22-25 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. 24 Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. 25 If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit. NASU

9. Handle Anger In A Godly Way
Ephesians 4:26 When angry, do not sin; do not ever let your wrath (your exasperation, your fury or indignation) last until the sun goes down. AMP

I am so thankful that Jesus gave to us such an awesome Book to live by–to help us in our weaknesses and to comfort our hearts–to encourage us– to guide us–to teach us.

Hebrews 4:11-13 Let us therefore be diligent to enter that rest, lest anyone fall according to the same example of disobedience.12 For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a Discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.13 And there is no creature hidden from His sight, but all things are naked and open to the eyes of Him to whom we must give account. NKJV

-shalom friends…

One thought on “acerbities…umbrages…

  1. Pingback: With Christ Blog » About Anger

Leave a Reply

