Agendas of the Heart

Agendas, Agendas– oh my. Okay so today is Monday and I have a large list of “things to do”. This morning I woke up and could not sit still. Again this morning it was so hard to just focus on the Word and read. My mind again was racing about all the places I needed to visit today for jobs and getting papers together for the unemployment office–oh my. I could not sit still. I would read and again my mind would wander off to my “to do list”–the “needs to be done asap list”. So many lists seem to of moved me from His peace.

And this verse rings in my ear this morning…

Colossians 3:15 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. NKJV

With all my lists and agendas–His peace has not been able to rule this morning in my heart.

I couldn’t take it anymore–the pull of the to do lists were pulling me to do just that–“start your morning off right away”. And I did just that– I sat down at the computer and was about to look for more jobs to apply for when I was stopped in my tracks. The gnawing of “write it down” became quite a reality. And that’s how I got here this morning before the “agendas”. I asked the Lord–what shall I write about? However deep in my heart–I knew what I should be writing about. I pushed it aside and started to write about something else that was of no importance and it was completely disjointed. So I erased all if it and asked the Lord again, “what shall I write about”? And this time my heart was ready to hear Him. He quietly spoke to my heart–“write about what you are going through right now.” I sighed inside and agreed that I must be honest in my heart in all matters–and to hear Him and obey His promptings.

Romans 10:17 So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. NKJV

For it’s true–I cannot start the day ahead of Jesus or without Jesus by my side–or striving will abide. Striving will become the captain of the wheel and my Master who reigns will not kneel to my will. But He will wait for me to stop and when I do, this striving will drop. So this day I let go of the helm and ask Jesus to help me not be overwhelmed. For I desire to trust Him with all things so that my life will embrace and sing of His wonderful works for this is the day He has made.

Hebrews 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him. KJV
  
Oh how I long to please Him and to be led by the Spirit–to not be ahead of Him –but to walk out His will inn all the fullness that He desires. Amen!

-shiloh

Leave a Reply

