the Merryness of Christmas

mer·ry (mµr”¶) adj. mer·ri·er, mer·ri·est. 1. Full of high-spirited gaiety; jolly. 2. Marked by or offering fun and gaiety; festive. 3. Archaic. Delightful; entertaining. 4. Brisk. –mer”ri·ly adv. –mer”ri·ness n.

Okay, so I suppose that I could say this morning has been quite entertaining so far for having a merry christmas.

Christmas for us is often a quiet restful day–enjoying the sereneness of the hustle and bustle ceased for a mere day. It’s amazing to see how stores are closed and no one driving on the streets–everything is quite still. The festivities going on are the ones in each home around the world for those that take part in christmas traditions.

Being newly married (going on 3 years) we haven’t quite developed any christmas traditions of our own nor have we desired to embrace the tradition of Christmas http://www.garnertedarmstrong.ws/christmas2.shtml and yet I must say–I do. We put up lights–because I think they are pretty–if I could have lights up all year I would–not because of the christmas celebration but because I think lights are cool. But then our electric bill would probably be too high.

Inn life we are given time to work out our beliefs and in that working out we are not to become legalistic in a matter so as to enforce our beliefs on others legalistically but grow in the grace of Christ so that others will see the power of the salvation of Jesus through our life and the grace and love that He longs to bestow upon each of us.

I like to send cards during christmas because it is a time to let others know that we love them and care about them and are thoughtful of them. I never know how a simple card will bring a smile to someone’s face that is in need of encouragement or just to know that someone is thinking about them–because maybe many do not and there is great lonliness this time of year for many in the world. So I send cards out to send love–the love and peace of Jesus. That He would love on those that may be without family and are needing a hug–even a hug from a card.

The word that has been on my heart the past few days has been “it is better to give than receive”. This has been gnawing at me — The word “give” is listed 871 times in the Bible and yet the word “love” is listed 310 times. So how will people know of the love of Christ without it being givien to them first through a simple smile or a simple hello or whatever? And yet again the word “receive” is listed only 174 times in the Bible.

Acts 20:35
35 I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.KJV

John 13:34-35
34 A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.
35 By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.KJV

John 14:27
27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.KJV

Luke 11:13
13 If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him?KJV

Luke 12:33-34
33 Sell that ye have, and give alms; provide yourselves bags which wax not old, a treasure in the heavens that faileth not, where no thief approacheth, neither moth corrupteth.
34 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.KJV

Luke 6:38
38 Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.KJV

So it seems I have lots to learn about giving still…and I suppose this is why the Lord has put on my heart the verse in acts..for it is more blessed to give than receive. For this is His kinngdom principal–for the Lord longs to give to us–not just monetarily–but He longs to love on us–to encourage us–to speak to us–to give to us the secrets of His heart…the question is…am I there to listen? to receive what He desires to give? Or do I make myself available to give to others? Or do I make myself available to the Lord to give through me? these questions have me inn a quandary state of being during this season…

To bring a more lighted side to my reflections this morning I have a story about the picture above. We had received these wonderful glasses from my brother and sister-in-law. I had opened the package yesterday and put them in the dishwasher so that they could be used this morning…and this is what happened…

I awoke a little after 7am this christmas morning and smelled the aroma of the coffee brewing. hubby usually gets up before me and makes the coffee. As I went to the kitchen I noticed that my husband had set a cup out for me (as he always does) for my coffee. I then remembered the cups in the dishwasher and asked my husband if he had wanted to use one of the new cups. He said that he had already poured his coffee and would wait. So I began to unload the dishwasher and put all the dishes away except for one of the cups that we received as a gift from my brother and his wife.

So I poured a bit of milk in the cup and added the coffee and topped it off with some sugar…then went to sit down. All was well–I was content–I drank the coffee to the last drop-yummy. I wanted more coffee. My husband got up to go outside for a bit–we’re having a heat wave over here–the snow is finally melting –okay so maybe 34 degrees isn’t a heat wave–but it sure feels like it.

I got up from the computer (reading emails and such) and went for that 2nd cup of coffee…I set the cup on the counter by the coffee pot and picked the coffee pot up and slowly poured the coffee in the cup…

as I was pouring the coffee–suddenly I heard …

“POP!”

and then the coffee began to leak everywhere out of the cup—no more coffee—no more cup 😦

As you can see…it seems the cup popped in half. Our coffee is not that hot–so I was quite amazed! I also let out a yell of startlement when it happened and my husband peaked in the kitchen window to see if I was okay. I shared with him what happened and he chuckled yet was amazed at how the cup just split so nicely in half–it was kind of startling yet comical at the same time. So I had to take a picture of it –not to worry though–we have 3 more cups 🙂

So I am thankful to of gotten at least one cup of coffee from that cup–I looked on the internet for facts about broken glass and found the factoid on the pic–interesting eh? So if the cup had never broken I would never know that breaking glass travels at 3000 miles.

If anyone out there has any interesting facts about broken glass–I would love to hear your comments…

so may this day and the rest of this year be a time of knowing more of who Jesus really is and how He desires to bestow upon each of us His great and life giving love.

Leave a Reply

