the Character of Christ

…reflecting the character of God.

As always, Oswald has something to say about the character of Christ this morning–

Here is part of his devotion this morning…
What we must beware of is not damage to our belief in God but damage to our Christian disposition or state of mind. “Take heed to your spirit, that you do not deal treacherously” ( Malachi 2:16 ). Our state of mind is powerful in its effects. It can be the enemy that penetrates right into our soul and distracts our mind from God. There are certain attitudes we should never dare to indulge. If we do, we will find they have distracted us from faith in God. Until we get back into a quiet mood before Him, our faith is of no value, and our confidence in the flesh and in human ingenuity is what rules our lives.

This is so true– especially being challenged in the workplace and even at home. Our attitude most reflect right where we are at. It is sure hard to maintain an inner peace when someone or something has really ticked you off– For me I get all uptight and want to respond according to my feelings at the present moment. But I know the Lord desires that I respond patiently or maybe not even respond until I am calmed down. I got some Irish in me–and the Irish are the fiery type. But that is nothing to glout about–only something to overcome.

Do you know how many times David mentions his enemies in the Bible? A whole lot! He constantly cried out to the Lord regarding his enemies…he was sure tried a lot.

The Proverbs mention something quite beautiful about our character before the Lord…

Proverbs 16:7 When a man’s ways please the LORD, he maketh even his enemies to be at peace with him. KJV

But I know that sometimes the Lord allows things to happen, because He is desiring us to be strengthened in an area where we are weak–or maybe He is desiring that we make a choice concerning what path we are on. I know this to be true of my walk with Him. But I can still hold on to a promise in proverbs and desire my walk to please the Lord. So everyday I must examine and ask…do my ways please the Lord? Oh Lord help me, because I fall everyday. It can even be a little thing like a short comment toward my lovely husband…opps, like I did this early morning–forgive me Lord.

blessings…

Leave a Reply

