His Shelter

Haven’t written in a couple days…been waiting on the Lord to share. We finally got some snow here. Can’t believe that winter time is already setting in. But it is so beautiful outside. It was a snow that caused a sticking to everything. The trees look like something out of a story book–caked with snow. I will try and take some pictures this morning and post them later on this evening. It will be our first winter here in our home so we are hoping for the best with no major troubles. Seems it will take me longer to get down the hill in the morning for work and I am being prompted to drive more carefuly.

I don’t know if there are any Oswald Chamber readers out there but I absolutely love his writings–he says things just right which almost always cause a stir in my heart or a deep pondering. This morning he speaks of the scripture in where it talks about doing all for the glory of God.

1 Corinthians 10:31 Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God. KJV

He talks about how many times it is easy to get caught up in a pride of wanting to be heroes. Here is his statement:

It’s one thing to go through a crisis grandly, yet quite another to go through every day glorifying God when there is no witness, no limelight, and no one paying even the remotest attention to us. If we are not looking for halos, we at least want something that will make people say, “What a wonderful man of prayer he is!” or, “What a great woman of devotion she is!” If you are properly devoted to the Lord Jesus, you have reached the lofty height where no one would ever notice you personally. All that is noticed is the power of God coming through you all the time.

We want to be able to say, “Oh, I have had a wonderful call from God!” But to do even the most humbling tasks to the glory of God takes the Almighty God Incarnate working in us. To be utterly unnoticeable requires God’s Spirit in us making us absolutely humanly His. The true test of a saint’s life is not successfulness but faithfulness on the human level of life. We tend to set up success in Christian work as our purpose, but our purpose should be to display the glory of God in human life, to live a life “hidden with Christ in God” in our everyday human conditions ( Colossians 3:3 ). Our human relationships are the very conditions in which the ideal life of God should be exhibited.

I know that I have fallen short in the area of desiring to be “noticed” and “successful”. But the Lord desires that I just “be” in Him…to walk with Him and by knowing Him–His presence will flow into the portals of my life with Him and then I will not need to be noticed because I will be so caught up in His presence that I won’t care what others think about me…just like John the Baptist–he was so caught up in the Lord and the calling upon his life that it didn’t matter what he wore or ate or where he lived because what was important to him was the kingdom of heaven–for those that heard him speak to repent and be baptized. Even when his disciples came to him and spoke of the Messiah baptizing as he was in the Jordon–John did not become selfish and say–“hey that’s not fare–he’s doing what I am supposed to be doing”– or “hey- this is my ministry of baptizm.” No, he simply replied to his disciples by saying this…

John 3:30
30 He must increase, but I must decrease.KJV

He also told them that a man can receive nothing except it be given to him from heaven. jn. 3:27

Even those 2 statements are powerful. For he knew his place in the Lord…he knew that Jesus must increase and it was his time to decrease. He knew Christ had come to save the world from their sin.

I ponder on John 3:27 and think about my husband–a true gift from heaven. That at this appointed time God has given us to one another to walk this road hand in hand for the purpose of Christ Jesus. And we sure have or rather I sure have bucked at many issues where I should of adhered. I cannot go back and change the attitudes I have had inthe past but what I can do is continue going forward and change what we face in the future and embrace the plans of the Most High.

And the other writer I adore is Charles Spurgeon who always gives me deeper insight into the Word of God.

This morning he speaks from Lamentations, “The Lord is my portion, saith my soul.” —Lamentations 3:24

Spurgeon says,
He Himself makes up the sum total of my soul’s inheritance. Within the circumference of that circle lies all that we possess or desire. The Lord is my portion. Not His grace merely, nor His love, nor His covenant, but Jehovah Himself. He has chosen us for His portion, and we have chosen Him for ours. It is true that the Lord must first choose our inheritance for us, or else we shall never choose it for ourselves.

blessings… to know that He alone is my portion.

Leave a Reply

