A Right Spirit

This morning is a new day and I am thankful always for new days especially when the last day was one of trial.

Lamentations 3:22-26
22 It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. 23 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. 24 The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. 25 The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him. 26 It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD.KJV

One thing I cannot forget though is the prior day and to make sure my heart is always right before Him. Last night a trial arose in our home and my response was not one of peace and trust but of mistrust and anger. I allowed the thoughts to consume my heart rather than embracing the Lord–which ended in a not so good evening.

Oswald, this morning says, “we should battle through our moods, feelings, and emotions into absolute devotion to the Lord Jesus. We must break out of our own little world of experience into abandoned devotion to Him.”

This is so hard to do when flesh wants to reign and be right every time. A good friend shared that I should not allow anything to rob my peace. It is so hard to bring every thought of mine into subjection and how there are so many thoughts that desire to be exalted above the knowledge of Christ. But it is my prayer that nothing would move me from keeping peace in my heart and having absolute devotion to Christ.

Here is the rest of what Oswald says this morning…
Think who the New Testament says Jesus Christ is, and then think of the despicable meagerness of the miserable faith we exhibit by saying, “I haven’t had this experience or that experience”! Think what faith in Jesus Christ claims and provides— He can present us faultless before the throne of God, inexpressibly pure, absolutely righteous, and profoundly justified. Stand in absolute adoring faith “in Christ Jesus, who became for us wisdom from God— and righteousness and sanctification and redemption . . .” ( 1 Corinthians 1:30 ). How dare we talk of making a sacrifice for the Son of God! We are saved from hell and total destruction, and then we talk about making sacrifices!

We must continually focus and firmly place our faith in Jesus Christ— not a “prayer meeting” Jesus Christ, or a “book” Jesus Christ, but the New Testament Jesus Christ, who is God Incarnate, and who ought to strike us dead at His feet. Our faith must be in the One from whom our salvation springs. Jesus Christ wants our absolute, unrestrained devotion to Himself. We can never experience Jesus Christ, or selfishly bind Him in the confines of our own hearts. Our faith must be built on strong determined confidence in Him.

It is because of our trusting in experience that we see the steadfast impatience of the Holy Spirit against unbelief. All of our fears are sinful, and we create our own fears by refusing to nourish ourselves in our faith. How can anyone who is identified with Jesus Christ suffer from doubt or fear! Our lives should be an absolute hymn of praise resulting from perfect, irrepressible, triumphant belief.

How this is so true– I find it in my life in needing a strong determined confidence in Him–otherwise I get side-swiped every time when the enemy knocks at the door desiring to sift me as wheat. Ah, and there is that word again, “trust”. I am realizing now how utterly important it is to have such deep, unmoving trust. And oh, how the Lord is against unbelief–even a steadfast impatience concerning this sin–it shows He will not put up with it–hmm…then why do I? Why do I embrace such heinous sin! Fear attaches itself to unbelief–they are intertwined–when I refuse to nourish myself in faith–unbelief sets in with fear and BAM! there is the doorway for the enemy to have a hayday with my moods, emotions, thoughts–everything!

And now I am recalling where this crept in to create such a terrible evening…I was reading the Word yesterday and thought I was finished–I began to involve myself with other things such as wanting to hurry and go to the store — to run errands, etc. I interupted my husband and his time with the Lord bugging him to go with me. And I remember him asking me– so I guess you are done with reading the Word for today? It was a strange question…but not really. Rather than waiting on the Lord and pondering on His word– I quickly wanted to embrace the day and all it’s “busy’s”– I had forgotten of the Sabbath and the rest and peace it brings– I had my agenda for the day and left Jesus out– oh Lord forgive me. My dear husband as loving as he is still accompanied me on my bizarre errands. And even when we returned home–I had the opportunity to embrace again and wait on the Lord –but I was already caught up in what I wanted to do. Then as the evening came–I sensed a surge in the air about our home. A home where we desire the peace of Christ to reign and dwell richly. But rather then going to the Lord for counsel–I continued in my own will and eventually thoughts of unbelief set in toward the close of the evening and an argument flared. It is obvious that I chose earlier in the day not to nourish myself with faith–that I so desperately need in order to get out of this hole of unbelief. Kind of like when you are sick and you need an extra does of vitamin C to charge up your immune system or an extra dose of vegetables that are rich with vitmains, etc. It is the same spiritually–I have been sick so long with this unbelief thing that I am now seeing the importance of drenching myself in Him so that my feet are solid standing in Christ. I really goofed yesterday…in not knowing the importance of keeping a right spirit before Christ and waiting on Him for His will and not my will.

So this morning I asked the Lord what it was that He was desiring to show me through this and He spoke this verse to my heart…

Psalms 51:10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. KJV

Spurgeon this morning speaks from John 15:4 “The branch cannot bear fruit of itself.”

more later…

Even now– i get on these rabbit trails and they soon become rabbit trials. .. because I am not keeping my focus on what is being spoken this day to my heart. Oh that my focus would be constrained to His heart and not the matters of life.

Spurgeon goes on to say…
How did you begin to bear fruit? It was when you came to Jesus and cast yourselves on His great atonement, and rested on His finished righteousness. Ah! what fruit you had then! Do you remember those early days?

Have you declined since then? If you have, we charge you to remember that time of love, and repent, and do thy first works. Be most in those engagements which you have experimentally proved to draw you nearest to Christ, because it is from Him that all your fruits proceed. Any holy exercise which will bring you to Him will help you to bear fruit. The sun is, no doubt, a great worker in fruit-creating among the trees of the orchard: and Jesus is still more so among the trees of His garden of grace. When have you been the most fruitless? Has not it been when you have lived farthest from the Lord Jesus Christ, when you have slackened in prayer, when you have departed from the simplicity of your faith, when your graces have engrossed your attention instead of your Lord, when you have said, “My mountain standeth firm, I shall never be moved”; and have forgotten where your strength dwells—has not it been then that your fruit has ceased? Some of us have been taught that we have nothing out of Christ, by terrible abasements of heart before the Lord; and when we have seen the utter barrenness and death of all creature power, we have cried in anguish, “From Him all my fruit must be found, for no fruit can ever come from me.” We are taught, by past experience, that the more simply we depend upon the grace of God in Christ, and wait upon the Holy Spirit, the more we shall bring forth fruit unto God. Oh! to trust Jesus for fruit as well as for life.

Now that is interesting–Spurgeon says that we are to be most in the engagements which have experimentally proved to draw us nearest to Christ. Hmmm.. would watchinng tv and movies draw me to Christ? no. How about running around town? no. Chatting online?hmm..now that depends on the conversation. But through experiment in the past–what has drawn me mostly to Christ– I can only attest that it is the times that I spent soaking in His word and in prayer that I was closest to Him…even if I had spent time at the altar at church and worshiped Him during worship time when I attended church–this did not prove me nearest to Him–it was only when I was deep in His Word and prayer that I noticed an intense difference in my walk with Him…because it was those times that He was hearing my innermost heart. Going to church will not strengthen my relationship with Christ–it can add to it but never strengthen it solidly because my character in Him is who I am when no one but God is watching. I guess that is why there are a lot of weak Christians out there. We get our fill on church and then go back to the world after church is over.

When I used to go to camp when I was younger–we would have these awesome camp meetings where kids came to know Christ, there were healings, miracles and demons cast out. It was a miraculous time. But one thing I didn’t like was when at the end of the week they would speak to us about re-entry. Entering back into the normal day to day activities of life. And how this was a spiritual high and how it would go away when we returned home. It was really not good…it is my belief that we don’t ever need to re-enter back into the world–for we are ambassadors of Christ and can take our witness wherever we go and spread to others who are lost and hurting. I really believe that what I heard when I was younger was a wrong teaching. Isn’t it sad how ministers feel they must cover all the basis so no angry parents call and tell them how whacked out they are for exposing their kids to Jesus and revival? Well listen up! You never have to go through any re-entry if you have experience revival in your heart–we are to take it with us wherever we go and spread our witness our testimony to those we meet in life and never get sucked back in to the monotony of just living life as we please, but do all for the glory of Christ Jesus–to make a difference–because we are to be the light of the world– a city on a hill!

Matthew 5:16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven. KJV

blessings…

Leave a Reply

