All Things Work Together

OSWALD CHAMBERS
We know that all things work together for good to those who love God . . . —Romans 8:28

The circumstances of a saint’s life are ordained of God. In the life of a saint there is no such thing as chance. God by His providence brings you into circumstances that you can’t understand at all, but the Spirit of God understands. God brings you to places, among people, and into certain conditions to accomplish a definite purpose through the intercession of the Spirit in you. Never put yourself in front of your circumstances and say, “I’m going to be my own providence here; I will watch this closely, or protect myself from that.” All your circumstances are in the hand of God, and therefore you don’t ever have to think they are unnatural or unique. Your part in intercessory prayer is not to agonize over how to intercede, but to use the everyday circumstances and people God puts around you by His providence to bring them before His throne, and to allow the Spirit in you the opportunity to intercede for them. In this way God is going to touch the whole world with His saints.

Am I making the Holy Spirit’s work difficult by being vague and unsure, or by trying to do His work for Him? I must do the human side of intercession— utilizing the circumstances in which I find myself and the people who surround me. I must keep my conscious life as a sacred place for the Holy Spirit. Then as I lift different ones to God through prayer, the Holy Spirit intercedes for them.

Your intercessions can never be mine, and my intercessions can never be yours, “. . . but the Spirit Himself makes intercession” in each of our lives Romans 8:26. And without that intercession, the lives of others would be left in poverty and in ruin.

In reading Oswald this morning- I thought it was quite appropriate since I have a tendency to try and be my own providence in circumstances rather than trusting God. And then I look at the simple pic of this deer who sits on the steps wounded and needing care. Even God cares about the animals–and I believe this little fawn was directed to the right place. So if God cares about the animals- then He sure cares about you and me and will direct us to the right place to receive His care in all the matters we face.

Isaiah 49:14-18
14 But Zion said, The LORD hath forsaken me, and my Lord hath forgotten me.
15 Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee.
16 Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me.
17 Thy children shall make haste; thy destroyers and they that made thee waste shall go forth of thee.
18 Lift up thine eyes round about, and behold: all these gather themselves together, and come to thee. As I live, saith the LORD, thou shalt surely clothe thee with them all, as with an ornament, and bind them on thee, as a bride doeth.KJV

Its’ amazing how much unbelief I can enter into wondering whether God is present in my circumstances–but in the above verse–He says, “BEHOLD”. Spurgeon emphasizes this verse in this mornings devotional. It’s one thing to read a verse just to read it–but He desires that I ponder His Word– to sit and think about what is being spoken. He has not forgotten me–for BEHOLD — He has graven me on the palm of His hands. How many times have I forgotten that when I have been in the midst of deep trial and have embraced unbelief instead of belief.

Spurgeon says it so right…
He never faileth; He is never a dry well; He is never as a setting sun, a passing meteor, or a melting vapour; and yet we are as continually vexed with anxieties, molested with suspicions, and disturbed with fears, as if our God were the mirage of the desert.

That describes me to a “T”. But how come I can’t get out of the rut I am in when I am in the center of the trial. How hard it is to turn from unbelief when it’s tenacles are literally wrapped arounnd my mind and I cannot see the Light of the Truth that stands before me or knocks at the door of my heart…or even gently whispers “stop”. Is it that my flesh ever so liveth that it suffocates the Spirit that dwells deep inn the portals of my being? These are questions I ask when the storm has passed and the debris is left to gather. Well it is quite obvious that flesh must die.

Galatians 5:17-18
17 For the flesh lusteth against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh: and these are contrary the one to the other: so that ye cannot do the things that ye would.
18 But if ye be led of the Spirit, ye are not under the law.KJV

Oswald says: Your part in intercessory prayer is not to agonize over how to intercede, but to use the everyday circumstances and people God puts around you by His providence to bring them before His throne, and to allow the Spirit in you the opportunity to intercede for them. In this way God is going to touch the whole world with His saints.

Sometimes I think I have so many issues with things that I never have the opportunity to give back to others in prayer because I am often fighting the same issues others have. But then I am forgetting that it is God who brings those people into our lives sovereignly and that it is not my job to be supergirl prayer warrior and take over but to present things before His Throne (as often or as rarely the opportunity is given) so that the Holy Spirit can intercede for them– just like what Oswald says.

more later…

Leave a Reply

